On the Mend

Not sure who's needier right now- me or my dog?

It’s been a rough week an a half.
My Hurricane Katrina rescue, Levee, had to go under the knife on Monday to have a mast cell tumor removed from her rear thigh. I took her in to Uptown Animal Hospital to have her vaccines updated a week and a half ago, pointed out the growth to our vet, who then showed a look of concern and aspirated it. Tuesday morning, the vet called me to tell me the results were back from the lab, and that it was indeed a mast cell tumor, as she had suspected. As soon as I got off the phone with her, I fell to pieces. Cancer scares the daylights out of me.
That same day, K and I made the appointment with Vet Specialty Center in the suburbs for surgery to remove the tumor. In cases of mast cell removals, the surgeon’s best bet is to remove wide margins of tissue surrounding the tumor in order to get any tissue with remaining cancerous cells out. Levee’s tumor was roughly the size of the tip of my pinky finger, but her stitches are several inches down her leg. The surgeon did a fantastic job removing it, and as much as it sucks to see my dog in any pain or discomfort, I am relieved to know that the tumor is out of her body. Now is the waiting game to get the biopsy results from the tumor to see what grade it was. Keep your fingers and toes crossed that it was a grade 1 tumor (best prognosis), and that we don’t have to deal with this again.

Having to deal with this emotional roller coaster the past 2 weeks has completely distracted me from the fact that I leave tomorrow to go to NYC, then Barbados, and then Philly for vacation. I am excited, but again, leaving my dog has been weighing heavy on my heart even though I know she is in trusted and competent care while I’m away.

Thanks to everyone who has offered kind, supportive words and actions while Levee, K and I have been dealing with this. I am so humbled by the amount of love and support we have in our life.

About scrapplequeen

Tri-coastal. PHL->SF->CHI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Mend

  1. Jen says:

    aww Nora! It sounds as if your baby will be okay. Try to enjoy yourself, you deserve some relaxation šŸ™‚ xoxo

Leave a Reply

