Breakfast of Champions

Remember, way back (3 days ago) when I posted some of my goals for 2013? Number one on my list was to eat whole foods, whenever possible. It wasn’t as if I ate like a newbie freshman in college prior to the New Year- I typically eat mostly healthy, nutritious foods that also happen to be delicious as it is (this is definitely one of the perks of living in Chicago, as well as having friends who can COOK. I mean really, the food scene in this city is incredible). Anyway, I love food, and I’m learning a lot in the kitchen by trial and error. Unfortunately, I did not grow up in a household or in a family that cooked. Fortunately, I can always start learning.

So, in an effort to be accountable, and to share with those of you who are just dipping your toes into the cooking pool, I will try to share my ongoing process in the kitchen. Most of the food I’ll post will be quick and easy and hopefully nutritious so that you can see that “fast food” doesn’t just have to mean McDonald’s.

I’ll start with one of my go-to breakfasts, especially during the Chicago winter months. Oatmeal. This oatmeal is not the standard “pour boiling water into a packet of paste” variety. The only oatmeal I’ll touch anymore is the steel cut, slow cooking variety. I’ll usually make a batch to store in the fridge, for a grab-and-go tupperwear for early work days, along with some for immediate consumption.

1 Cup Steel Cut Oatmeal (I love McCann’s Irish Oatmeal)
Berries (I use frozen bluberries, or a frozen berry mix)
1 banana cut in pieces
pad of butter or 1 teaspoon of coconut oil
1/2 tsp brown sugar
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cinnamon
small handful of raw pecans (or raw pecans or walnuts)

Boil 4 cups of water in a medium saucepan and add oatmeal. Stir immediately and lower heat when oatmeal starts to boil-  continue to stir occasionally, to prevent oatmeal on the bottom from burning. Oatmeal should thicken and be ready in about 20 minutes. Scoop oatmeal in bowl and stir in berries ( I usually add frozen blueberries), banana, a pat of butter or coconut oil, brown sugar, nutmeg,  cinnamon, and top with raw pecans, almonds or walnuts. Quick, healthy and delicious.

IMG_6770

About scrapplequeen

Tri-coastal. PHL->SF->CHI.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

