Pasta Imposter- Spaghetti Squash

Untitled

Have you seen this method of making quick, delicious pasta in 3 minutes? It’s fantastic. I make it all the time. Since the 3 minute pasta recipe has been in rotation for the past few months, I decided to step up my kitchen game, and try my hand in roasting my first spaghetti squash as a replacement to the capellini I was using in the original recipe. Why have I waited this long in my life to start eating spaghetti squash?!

If you can get by cutting a spaghetti squash without a trip to the ER and all of your fingers intact, kudos to you. (I had the foresight to youtube “how to cut a spaghetti squash” and I’m sure my health insurance company is thanking me for it.) Roasting a spaghetti squash is simple. Just halve the squash, scoop out the seeded middle and rub some olive oil on the innards along with a pinch of salt and a little black pepper. Put the squash face down on a baking tray, and into a preheated 400 degree oven. Roast for roughly 45 minutes. Remove squash form the oven when it is cooked through. Using a fork, scrape out the insides, which will pull away from the shell in strands. The squash will look just like spaghetti- it is delicious as is, but I replaced the capellini in the original 3 minute pasta recipe, and it was just as delicious and even more nutritious!

About scrapplequeen

Tri-coastal. PHL->SF->CHI.
This entry was posted in Food, Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pasta Imposter- Spaghetti Squash

  1. Jeanine W. says:

    Love that 3-minute pasta recipe, thanks!

  2. Jeanine- it has saved me on many a time strapped night! Heirloom tomatoes are the bomb-diggity for it 🙂

  3. Jen says:

    I LOVE spaghetti squash! Haven’t had it in a while, but now I feel inspired! xo

Leave a Reply

