National Canine Cancer Foundation

Big smiles after playing rough with Kevin

As some of you know from my prior posts, my dog had a cancerous tumor removed from her hind leg last month. Thankfully, because of the wonderful resources that are available to me, she is ok now and is none worse for the wear, minus a scar where the tumor once grew.
I’ve noticed that a few people have found my blog by searching for “mast cell tumor”, which makes me both happy and sad. Happy that I can share a cancer story with some hope, but sad to imagine that someone is going through the same fear and helplessness that I was going through not that long ago. When K and I were waiting on biopsy results, I was praying to God/the universe/life energy of your choice, that my dog would get through surgery ok and all of the cancer would be removed. Not that I really think that you can barter with the universe, but I made a promise (mostly to myself) that if my dog fully recovered, that I would donate to dogs in need.
I came across this foundation, which raises money to help fund canine cancer research. I made a donation, in hopes that something good will come out of another case of a dog (and it’s owners) suffering from this crappy disease. Please feel free to check them out and make a donation if you are so inclined, and/or pass it on to anyone who might be interested in them.

About scrapplequeen

Tri-coastal. PHL->SF->CHI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment